Configs Tutorial

Configs Tutorial

Whiteout has cloud configs, allowing you to download, create, and share configs you and others create.
Subscribing to a Config To subscribe to a config, navigate to the Misc category tab (the three gears). Locate the Configs header, and select the "+" button to add a new config to your list.
You will be presented with an option menu. Leave it on "Subscribe to another user's config", and press next.
The config browser will now be displayed, listing all public configs.
Configs display how many users they have, the share code, the author, and the last date the config was updated. Author names that are red mean that the config was created by an admin, and is safe to use. When subscribing to a public config, pay attention to how many users the config has, as this will give you a good feel for how safe the config is on the intended server. You may also paste a share code into the search bar here! For more info on share codes, scroll further down. Once you have picked a config to subscribe to, select it. It will be highlighted in blue to show that you have selected it. Next, press "Finish". You will see that the config you selected is now in your Configs list. Congratulations, you have subscribed to a config!

Note: if the owner of the config changes this config, it will change for you too! Always double check your settings before playing if the config was not created by you or a friend you trust.
Creating a Config Do you want to share your insane settings for your favorite server? Or maybe you've found an exploit and want to only share it with your friend! Creating your own config lets you do all of this. To do this, configure Whiteout's modules, then navigate to the Config module and press the "+" button.
Select "Create your own config" and hit "Next". You will be presented with the config creation screen:
Title your config in the "Config Name" text field. It can be whatever you like, but do not advertise or include links in your config name. Doing so will result in your Whiteout account being terminated. Next, fill out the Intended Server field. This is optional, however it increases the searchability of your config in the config browser. After this, tag the config by selecting how legit you consider the config to be. Finally, set the visibility of your config. If it is set to Public, anyone may find your config in the config browser. If set to Code only, users must have your config share code to subscribe to it (this is good for private groups/factions). If set to Private, you are the only user that will ever have access to the config. Press "Next" to navigate to the final step of config creation. This page allows you to select what categories are saved in the config:
By default, all are selected. This is how most config systems work. Should you want to only share your visual settings however, simply only select the Visuals option, and press "Finish". The config will now show up in your Configs list. Congratulations, you've just created a config!
Saving a Config Whiteout configs allow you to update them with new settings. Find better settings and want to save them for next time without creating a new config? This allows you to do that. Select a config that you own from your config list (don't load it, double clicking loads it, single click selects it), and press the floppy disk icon:
Whiteout will confirm that you want to save this config. Press "Yes", and your config is now updated. This updates it for all subscribers next time they open the client.

Note: you may only save/modify configs you own.
Loading a Config To load a config, navigate to the Config module, and double click a config in the list. Don't have any configs? Make one, or subscribe to one. Once a config is loaded, it will be highlighted in blue. You may also load a config by selecting it, and pressing the folder icon.
Config Share Codes Public configs and Code-only configs will have a share code that you can give to people. To find this, select a config that you own, and press the icon with the three gears in the Configs module header:
A menu pops up:
Press the "Copy" button under the Shareable Code field, and send this code to your friends. They may paste this code into the config browser search bar to find your config and subscribe to it.
Changing a Config's Settings If you want to change the name, tags, or visibility of a config this is how. Select a config that you own, and press the icon with the three gears in the Configs module header:
A menu pops up:
Here you may change any settings about your config you please. You may also change the ownership of your config.
Adding someone to your config means that they are able to change your config settings, and overwrite it. Be careful who you add! To add someone, type their Whiteout username into the Username text input field, and press "Add". Press "Finish", and that user is now able to modify your config anytime they please.
Deleting a Config To delete a config, select a config you have ownership permissions on, and press the "-" button in the Configs header.
Deleting a config will delete it for all subscribers! If you press the delete button, Whiteout will confirm you wish to do this, and understand it removes it for everyone. Press "Yes" and the config is now deleted.